One for the friends.

Today has been a day for going through emails. My endless abyss of emails! I’ve read some great articles today, and this one I am quoting from was definitely one I can resonate with. It was an article about what to do when you’ve had a “crappy workout”. Number 2 on the list was this:

Lean on a friend who has earned the right to see you at your most vulnerable” (Neghar Fonooni.)

Sometimes I really feel like I’m almost obliged to tell people what’s happened, even though I know I’m not. I hate lying to people (is saying something incorrect to protect your privacy a lie? Moral question of the day…), but I know that not everyone needs to know what’s happened with the miscarriages, or that we were / are trying to start a family.

But this quote highlights the most important thing we all need to remember. We generally have lots of friends, but there are the ones who have been with you through thick and thin, they have earned the right to see you at your worst. When you’re teary, snotty, and a blithering mess who can’t mentally function properly. They are the ones who can know, because they know what to say, what to do, and what kind of chocolate or DVD’s to bring you. Hell they even know if you need man sized tissues or not.

Here’s to the besties who have our backs in all this crap. High five 🙂

 

Author: thegriefdiariesblog

A borderline hyperactive Personal Trainer, navigating the process of starting a family.

1 thought on “One for the friends.”

  1. So true, high five to the bestie who listen as we unload all of our emotional baggage and who don’t judge. I feel blessed that I have a couple of girlfriends who fall into that category. And, don’t worry about the little white lies we have to tell people regarding infertility..with certain people some things are better left unsaid. 🙂 xo

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

