Round 3

So. Today has finally come. The day of the hysteroscopy.

Yesterday I was starting to feel a bit nervous, but thankfully I slept ok. The good thing with this being the third procedure, is I feel like I’m learning more each time and preparing better and better. I kept my water intake up as much as possible as late as I could into the night. The last thing I wanted was to have the canula put in my wrist again because the veins in my hand were too flat. Apparently the last time I could eat or drink was 6 hours before my admission time. If that was the case, I was going to drink as much as I could right at the last minute. 600ml of water, at 3am. Man, was that ever a mission!

So I managed to not eat or drink anything again (yay! I was super hungry), and we made it to the hospital perfectly on time. The nurse took me in, I saw the anaesthetist, then before I knew it we were walking into the theatre. Cue nervous tears (as usual – so annoying!). But thankfully the team was really good. The anaesthetist made a few jokes which was a nice distraction, and even better – the canula went in first time in the back of my hand! Yay! Before I knew it I was saying goodnight, then waking up in recovery.

I woke up comfortably, feeling a little unwell with a reasonable amount of cramping and pain. The nurses were really good, I told them how I felt and they gave me what I needed. I had a lemonade ice block first to help bring my blood sugar back up and it was awesome. I hadn’t had an ice block in years so it was really great as a treat. Soon after that I had my sandwiches and they let me get dressed. Before I knew it my sister-in-law had arrived to get me and we were on our way.

I’m so happy this is over now. I know that the whole journey is far from over, but I’m just so glad today is done. Time to move on I think, and hopefully my doctor agrees when I see him next week!

Author: thegriefdiariesblog

A borderline hyperactive Personal Trainer, navigating the process of starting a family.

2 thoughts on “Round 3”

Leave a Reply

