Undecided…

I need to bounce an idea off you all.

Since the last miscarriage I’ve always been of the mindset that when we get back into trying again I would chart my temperatures until ovulation was confirmed and then I would stop charting and just see what happened. Last cycle that didn’t happen, I just temped all the way through.

I like this approach because seeing your temperatures do their thing (good or bad) can mess with you. We all know how the 2WW is and you find yourself going from hopeful to despairing to “just calm down woman!” in what seems like the space of 5 minutes. From an emotional perspective this could be a good decision, I may not get my hopes up quite the same as I normally would.

I don’t like this approach because I love being informed. It’s exciting to see that steady temperature rise because it’s good to know that my body is doing what it should in it’s luteal phase. And I love being able to compare each cycle (pregnant or not) to learn more about my body. From a pregnant perspective, it’s fun to look back and see potentially when inplantation occurred, or when pregnancy really became noticeable through temperatures. I’d find it frustrating to end up being pregnant one cycle and not be able to look back on information. It’s also super handy to see the temps drop and know that I should be preparing for a period. I like being prepared. But – could the lack of information be just what I need?

So as you can see there are 2 very valid cases for temping and not temping post-ovulation. And I have no idea if your thoughts will help me in the slightest. I’m even compelled to think that I will probably just keep going because I’m such a FOMO (Fear Of Missing Out). But please do comment on any of your experiences, it might just help me out!

Author: thegriefdiariesblog

A borderline hyperactive Personal Trainer, navigating the process of starting a family.

4 thoughts on “Undecided…”

  1. I moved from temping my entire cycle, to just starting to temp when I see EWCF. And then I stop as soon as there’s a sustained temp rise, so after 3 or 4 higher temps. I want to know that I ovulated, but anything beyond that is just stressing me out unnecessarily.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I probably temped full cycles about 5 times, including my first pregnancy. I temped to 11 dpo my first pregnancy (which ended at 11 weeks).
        Since then, I’ve had 3 cycles and I have only done the partial temping for them (1 non-pregnant cycle, 2 pregnant cycles).
        I still wouldn’t have gone straight to the lazy temping through, I needed those first few cycles to figure it out and learn what my temp rise looked like etc.
        But I don’t know, everyone’s different. For me the temping was stressing me out and I was losing sleep. But not temping and therefore not knowing for sure if I’d ovulated sounded even more stressful.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yeah I totally understand that. I’ve been temping fully since March 2015, only stopping when I fell pregnant and then also chose not to temp the first cycle after the miscarriage. It’s been great to see my cycles return to normal so I’m happy I’ve done it so thoroughly.
        I’m 4dpo today and took my temperature this morning, I’ve had a good temperature rise so I think maybe I’ll try not temping, at least for a few days. The most important part for me is confirming ovulation which I’ve done. Personally I think it will be a nice load off my mind once I get used to it. I don’t lose sleep over temping but it’s just something else to remember!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

